Sunday Link Love

I may or may not have gotten most of these links through stalking Beth Revis’s blog, whose book Across the Universe I really really want to read. Like, really.

  • I vaguely knew about this “Dress My Little Pony up like favorite characters” trend, but this group of My Little Ponies as characters from Avatar: The Last Airbender is far and above my favorite. Thanks, Rebecca Enzor!

A must-see video for writers. Beth Revis on failure:

  • I love this response to Sady Doyle’s assessment of A Song of Ice and Fire as a sexist work. I actually think ASOIAF is explicitly feminist, and at some point I might make a post about why I feel this way. In the meantime, Alyssa Rosenberg makes a pretty damn good argument, probably better than I could ever do.

Will always rave about this video. Always.

***

  • More from Beth Revis! Who blogs about first chapters and hooks. Now, in the writer blogging world, there is probably no more typical a post than the obligatory post about first chapters and hooks. What I like about this post is that she breaks down what a hook is. I have always, always thought that writers would be better off talking about hooks as well-done, interesting questions – and since that’s basically what Beth Revis breaks it down to, I’m a big fan of this post.

People have been kind enough to make suggestions for this blog! I want to set up Google Connect in the sidebar, but I’m struggling. Basically, I got an html from Google, but when I put it in the WordPress text/html widget, it doesn’t do anything. WordPress folks, any idea how to circumvent this? It seems that it would make it a lot easier for the Blogspot folks to follow my blog.

Also, I want to get Facebook and Twitter buttons for my post, so I will jump on that tomorrow. *cue The Sun Will Come Out Tomorrow in my head*

In other news, I won things this week! Will post about that between the Monday and Thursday content posts.

Thanks for reading, and hope you enjoyed the links! Sorry the list was a little short this week.

To apologize, here’s a cute kitty. Promise he/she bites.

Next Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Yeah, I’m thinking I need to add a google connect to my sidebar too since right now all I have is an RSS feed & twitter but eh. I haven’t looked into how to do that yet either!

    Reply
  2. I’m going to be giving away a copy of Across The Universe soon, so I’ll let you know when! 🙂

    And thank you for all the linkage. Those ponies–*dies*–I want them all. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Wow. I loved the Beth Revis vlog and the My Little Avatar (you KNOW I had a whole boxful of My Little Ponies as a girl! Lol… Ah, memories). I also really liked the first link – those were beautiful drawings and you’re right – every aspiring artist type needs to see that! Also? I’m thinking I need to design me one of those anthropomorphic versions of my artistic soul!

    Reply
  4. I love love love Across the Universe. It is one of my favorite reads of the year. She’s absolutely amazing!

    Reply
  5. Unfortunately WordPress doesn’t allow javascript so you can’t use Google Friend Connect unless you get a .org account and host it on your own site. But they have made it really easy to get a Facebook button and Twitter button (it’s in the Widgets section of your dashboard).

    And thank you so much for linking to my post! I’m glad you liked the Avatar Ponies ^_^ (I’m putting up Rainbow Bright a little later today – been sick all weekend so I didn’t have a chance to get it up yesterday.

    Reply
  6. I love Beth! She’s one of my favorite people ever. 🙂

    Reply
  7. OMG! The violin remix of Ke$sha? FANTASTIC! My daughter & I are loving it this morning while we get ready for our day, thank you! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment